Become an Affiliate  Suggest A Book  Gift Certificates  Jenn's Blog: A Bookseller's Tale  Frequent Buyer Card  About us  Help  
   Nobel Lectures
From the Literature Laureates, 1986 to 2005
by Literature Laureates
Retail Price: $9.99
Our Price: $8.49 — save 15%!
Ships in 2 - 3 days
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Categories: Just Published | Fiction - Literature | Writers' Guides & Advice
Code: 3690 |  ISBN: 1595582010 |  336 pp. |  Publication Date: 2007
Publisher: New Press (Independent Publisher)
Format: Hardcover
About this book
For over one hundred years writers from around the world have traveled to Stockholm, Sweden, on December 10, the anniversary of Alfred Nobel's death, to be awarded the prize bearing his name. From the political to the aesthetic, Nobel Lectures collects the words of a quarter century of these literature laureates, representing the inspirations, motivations, and passionately held beliefs of some of the greatest minds in the world of literature.

From Harold Pinter's passionate and timely lecture on the nature of truth in art and politics to J.M. Coetzee's allegorical journey through the mysteries of the creative process; from Toni Morrison's essay on the link between language and oppression to Nadine Gordimer's meditation on the ways in which literature can shape the worlds of individual and collective being, this is a volume in which meditations on imagination and the process of writing mingle with keen discussions of global affairs, cultural change, and the ongoing influence of the past.

Whatever genre the laureates write in, be it poetry, drama, or prose, and whatever their cultural or social background, Nobel Lectures is a testament to the power of literature to shape the world.

The Nobel Prize is an international award instituted by the Swedish scientist Alfred Nobel through his will and administered by the Nobel Foundation in Stockholm, Sweden. First awarded in 1901, the Nobel Prize in Literature celebrates the work of a writer whose contribution to literature consistently transcends national boundaries to connect with the human condition.

Includes the following laureates: Orhan Pamuk, Harold Pinter, Elfriede Jelinek, J.M. Coetzee, Imre Kert?sz, V.S. Naipaul, Gao Xingjian, G?nter Grass, Jos? Saramago, Dario Fo, Wislawa Szymborska, Seamus Heaney, Kenzaburo Oe, Toni Morrison, Derek Walcott, Nadine Gordimer, Octavio Paz, Camilo Jos? Cela, Naguib Mahfouz, Joseph Brodsky, and Wole Soyinka


0 Comments[ Add Your Comment ]

“Be the change you want to see in the world.”
—Mahatma Gandhi